Written by
Bob Stumpel

February 20

Bought Blues (By Percy Mayfield, Ray Charles On Piano) (1971)

Album3 1971 PercyTangerine + CrossoverWith Percy MayfieldWith Ray Charles


  1. Never No More*
  2. Ha Ha In The Day Time*
  3. I Reached For A Tear*
  4. My Bottle Is My Companion
  5. We Both Must Cry
  6. River’s Invitation*
  7. Pretty Eyed Baby
  8. Long As You’re Mine
  9. You Don’t Exist Anymore
  10. Fading Love

* Ray played on these tracks. Known personnel on Percy’s earliest Tangerine tracks: Percy Mayfield – vocals; Ray Charles – piano; Marcus Belgrave – trumpet; Hank Crawford – alto saxophone; Sonny Forriest – guitar; David Fathead Newman – tenor saxophone; Edgar Willis – bass; Milt Turner – drums; Billy Preston – organ; Gerald Wilson – arranger.

(The liner notes to the 2003 compilation CD also mention Al McKibbon – bass, Teddy Edwards – tenor saxophone, Howard Roberts – Guitar, Johnny Guitar Watson – guitar, Chuck Norris – guitar).
Album: Tangerine TRCS 1510, 1971. Compilation album: Percy Mayfield, His Tangerine And Atlantic Sides. Rhino Handmade, 2003, ASIN: B0001MMG36:

For the documentary read this.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *