Written by
Bob Stumpel

November 5

I’ll Be Good To You (With Chaka Khan, Quincy Jones)

'89 Clip GoodAlbum3 1989 QuincyWith Chaka KhanWith Quincy Jones

Single3 (A, part 1; B, part 2): Qwest 22697, October 1989.
Single3 (12″ Maxi CD): Quest 0-21408, 1989.
Music clip: see this.
Album3 (LP, CD): Quincy Jones, Back On The Block, Quest 26020, 1989.

Lead vocals – Chaka Khan, Ray Charles; guitar – George Johnson; bass – Louis Johnson; keyboards – David Paich, Greg Phillinganes, Ian Prince; drums – Harvey Mason; drum sounds – Bruce Swedien; backing vocals – George Johnson, James Ingram, James Gilstrap, Louis Johnson, Phil Perry, Siedah Garrett, Syreeta Wright; programmed by – Ian Underwood, Larry Williams, Michael Boddicker, Steve Porcaro; arranged by – Quincy Jones.

The clip:

Update 13.02.2021: the video of this performance is no longer available on YouTube, please let me know in the comments below if you have any footage, thanks — Cyd

I’ve counted up to 8 remixes floating around, but th Maxi CD mentioned above had 5. The 4-minute videoclip of the song was based on the album release, but the single that made it for the charts actually was a compilation of the longer remixes:

  • 12″ Remix (8:06)
  • 12″ Remix Dub
  • Good For Your Soul Mix (8:18): additional production and remix by Arthur Baker for ABI. Rap written and performed by Skam. Programming by Mac Quayle. Mix engineer: Mark Plati at Shakedown Sound. Edits By Charlie Barbie and Vic.
  • Good For Your Soul Dub (4:45)
  • Around The House Mix: details as Soul mix, plus: edits by Oh Oh Omar Santana.
  • Around The House Dub

The 33 1/3 vinyl version reproduced in the soundclip below specifies 3 of the mixes in yet another order:

  • 12″ Remix 8:06
  • Good For Your Soul Mix 8:18
  • Good For Your Soul Dub 4:45

The label of this promo CD tells that there was also a 4:17 mix of the single version, plus an instrumental version with the same duration:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *