Written by
Bob Stumpel

February 20

My Jug And I (By Percy Mayfield, Ray Charles On Piano) (1966)

Album3 1966 PercyWith Billy PrestonWith Percy MayfieldWith Ray Charles


  1. My Jug And I
  2. River’s Invitation
  3. Baby Please
  4. Stranger In My Own Home Town
  5. Never Say Naw
  6. The Hunt Is On
  7. Memory Pain
  8. I Reached For A Tear
  9. Life Is Suicide
  10. Maybe It’s Because Of Love
  11. Give Me Time
  12. Fading Love

Recorded between 1963 and c. 1966 at unidentified studios, prob. in Los Angeles.

Personnel on Percy’s Tangerine tracks 1962 – 1971: Percy Mayfield – vocals; Ray Charles – piano; [needs revisions: Billy Preston – organ; Hank Crawford – alto saxophone; David Fathead Newman – tenor saxophone; Marcus Belgrave – trumpet; Sonny Forriest – guitar; Edgar Willis – bass; Milt Turner – drums]. Gerald Wilson – arranger.

Album: Tangerine TRCS 1505, 1966.
The tracks of the elpee were also released on the compilation album Percy Mayfield, His Tangerine And Atlantic Sides. Rhino Handmade, 2003.


Anonymous — 2012-09-17 20:37:39

magnifique chanteur,baryton profond,avec des textes souvent poetique auquel brother Ray a fait confiance.Les faces enregistres chez "Tangerine" sont aussi bonnes que ces premieres ,mais malheureusement mal distribuees. A remettre sur le marche avec du marquetting.JPV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *