Written by
Bob Stumpel

October 21

Road Rats (The Ray Charles Orchestra)

UnreleasedWith Ray Charles Band


This tune, penned by Roger Neumann, was only captured once, during the concert on 16 July 1978 in Antibes/Juan-les-Pins.

Solos by Bob Harris – p, Johnny Coles – tp, Don Wilkerson ts, Peter Turre – d, Steve Beskrone – b.

Full line-up of the band: Johnny Coles, Mark Hatch (or James Smith?), David Hines, Mark Van Sickle – trumpets; Steve Calia, Ken Tussing, Lawrence “Tricky” Lofton, John Boice – trombones; Brian Mitchell – as, Clifford Solomon – as, bandleader; Rudy Johnson, Donald Wilkerson – ts; Ed Pratt – bs; Eugene Ross – guitar; Steve Beskrone – bass; Peter Turre – d; Bob Harris – keyboards.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *