Written by
Bob Stumpel

October 20

Roll In G (The Ray Charles Orchestra)

'61 LC ParisUnreleasedWith Ray Charles Band


This simple (and not overly brilliant) rock tune was probably written by Ray Charles (the author’s rights have never been claimed). During the October 1961 series at the Palais des Sports in Paris, it got two lengthy performaces, starring the members of Ray’s old ‘small band’.

The full line-up was: Marcus Belgrave, Wallace Davenport, Phil Guilbeau, John Hunt – trumpets; Henderson Chambers, Leon Comegys, James Lee Harbert, Keg Johnson – trombones; Hank Crawford  (band lader) – organ on this tune; Rudy Powell – alto saxophone; David Newman – flute; Don Wilkerson – tenor saxophone; Leroy Cooper – baritone saxophone; Bruno Carr – drums; Sonny Forriest – guitar; Edgar Willis – bass.

The solos were for Sonny Forriest (g), David Fathead Newman (fl) and Don Wilkerson (ts).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *